HENRY SMITH MP



HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP Chancellor of the Exchequer HM Treasury 1 Horse Guards Road London SW1A 2HQ

5th June 2020

Dear Chancellor

We are writing to you regarding your Friday 29th May announcement relating to the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme.

Whilst we welcome the Government's efforts to support the economy through the COVID-19 crisis utilising a variety of measures, we believe that more must be done to support the aviation, travel and tourism industries and its employees.

As you will know, businesses in these sectors have been amongst the worst affected by the pandemic and their recovery will take significantly longer than other sectors, with studies showing that international passenger numbers may not return to 2019 levels for a significant period.

Our aviation, tourism and travel industries are key to our long-term economic recovery and are a major economic enabler both locally, regionally and nationally. The air transport, travel and tourism sectors support over 4 million jobs in the UK, jobs which remain under pressure as a result of the impacts of the pandemic.

In your statement, you set out that there would be no general extension of the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme beyond October. We urge you to reconsider that position for aviation, travel and tourism, which have been hit hardest by the COVID-19 pandemic.

We request that you engage with the sector, the businesses that depend on it, employment representatives and trade unions to agree a customised flexible extension to the scheme that considers the exceptional circumstances that aviation and its associated industries face.

Such an extended and customised scheme for this sector will be essential to allowing our world class aviation sector to recover and play its full part in helping the overall UK economy to move forward.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you further and how you can support such a vital part of the UK's economic recovery.

Crawley Constituency: 01293 934554 Westminster Office: 020 7219 7043 www.henrysmith.info henry.smith.mp@parliament.uk

Yours sincerely

Smith .

Henry Smith Member of Parliament for Crawley Chair, Future of Aviation Group

Catherine McKinnell Member of Parliament for Newcastle North Vice Chair, Future of Aviation Group

Gavin Newlands Member of Parliament for Paisley & Renfrewshire North Vice Chair, Future of Aviation Group

Gavin Robinson Member of Parliament for Belfast East Vice Chair, Future of Aviation Group

Sir David Amess, Member of Parliament for Southend West Steve Baker, Member of Parliament for Wycombe Peter Bone, Member of Parliament for Wellingborough Steven Bonnar, Member of Parliament for Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw, Member of Parliament for Exeter Alan Brown, Member of Parliament for Kilmarnock & Loudoun Amy Callaghan, Member of Parliament for East Dunbartonshire Sarah Champion, Member of Parliament for Rotherham Joanna Cherry, Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South West Geraint Davies, Member of Parliament for Swansea West Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey Donaldson, Member of Parliament for Lagan Valley Dave Doogan, Member of Parliament for Angus Allan Dorans, Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock **Richard Drax, Member of Parliament for South Dorset Colum Eastwood, Member of Parliament for Foyle** Dr Stephen Farry, Member of Parliament for North Down Margaret Ferrier, Member of Parliament for Rutherglen & Hamilton West Sir Roger Gale, Member of Parliament for North Thanet Patricia Gibson, Member of Parliament for North Ayrshire & Arran Paul Girvan, Member of Parliament for South Antrim Neale Hanvey, Member of Parliament for Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath Rt Hon Harriet Harman, Member of Parliament for Camberwell & Peckham Drew Hendry, Member of Parliament for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey Rt Hon Sir George Howarth, Member of Parliament for Knowsley David Linden, Member of Parliament for Glasgow East Carla Lockhart, Member of Parliament for Upper Bann Jack Lopresti, Member of Parliament for Filton & Bradley Stoke

Jonathan Lord, Member of Parliament for Woking Tim Loughton, Member of Parliament for East Worthing & Shoreham Kenny MacAskill, Member of Parliament for East Lothian Angus Brendan MacNeil, Member of Parliament for Na h-Eileanan an Iar Seema Malhotra, Member of Parliament for Feltham and Heston Jason McCartney, Member of Parliament for Colne Valley Mark Menzies, Member of Parliament for Fylde Carol Monaghan, Member of Parliament for Glasgow North West Ian Paisley, Member of Parliament for North Antrim Dr Dan Poulter, Member of Parliament for Central Suffolk & North Ipswich Virendra Sharma, Member of Parliament for Ealing Southall Alyn Smith, Member of Parliament for Stirling Dr Ben Spencer, Member of Parliament for Runnymede and Weybridge James Sunderland, Member of Parliament for Bracknell Giles Watling, Member of Parliament for Clacton Dr Philippa Whitford, Member of Parliament for Central Ayrshire Rt Hon Sammy Wilson, Member of Parliament for East Antrim Mohammad Yasin, Member of Parliament for Bedford